But her butter was vegan! A vegan butter adventure…

There are few things that most vegans would say they miss eating when going vegan. One of mine (maybe because I’m French) is definitely butter. Fresh, cultured butter. But the reason to stop eating it ( to be mindful of the milk industry does to baby cows) has pushed me on a search for a better butter recipe. If you are like me and enjoy the Irish butter, I think you will find this one quite satisfying and easy to make. I am also including another recipe I just recently came across that does not use soy lecithin, you can give it a shot!

vegan butter

First Recipe is from Miyoko Schinner, the queen of vegan cheeses of course, get her book ” The homemade vegan pantry” it will be worth your time and dollars, I changed a little something and added my advice:

Ingredients: I make a lot at once so half the recipe if you would like, this amount lasts me three or 4 weeks depending on how many potatoes I eat.

3 cups of melted coconut oil ( I use the virgin kind, gives a slight coconut flavor but I like that if you don’t use the refined kind, it works the same. Be mindful to heat the oil in a double boiler or very gently because your butter will have a top layer of fat if you don’t, not the end of the world though.)

1 cup of soy milk ( I use soy milk powder so I know that there is ONLY soy in it, try NOW foods soy milk powder)

1/2 cup of walnut oil ( For the Omega 3s!)

1 teaspoon of salt

2 teaspoons of liquid lecithin ( Got mine organic from Mountain Rose herbs.)

As per Miyoko’s advice I also add 2 teaspoons of Apple Cider Vinegar to make it more of a cultured butter.

6 ingredients, I think that it beats the long _$$ list that you can see in the versions you find in the grocery stores!

Add all the ingredients together, blend for two minutes to incorporate as much air as possible to make sure it is spreadable.

Pour in your preferred containers. Of course I use mason jars but whatever container will work! I use it within three weeks but it might be good longer, it just doesn’t make it passed that date at my house!

Second recipe from Virtual Vegan:

4 tbsp of almond meal ( I turned oatmeal into flour and it worked too!)

5 tbsp of milk ( Soy)

1 tsp of nutritional yeast

1/2 teaspoon of salt

1/2 teaspoon of Apple Cider Vinegar

Mix all of those well in a blender THEN and ONLY then add the oils:

1/2 cup of coconut oil

2 tbsp of olive oil( not virgin, it taste too strong but I used sunflower oil, any tasteless oils will do)

Voila second recipe, a bit more grainy if you don’t do the first step correctly so make sure you do!  It works great if you  cannot find the lecithin or have the patience to wait!

Bon appetit!

 

Leave a Reply

