Mosquito bites salve aka life saving comfrey, plantain, calendula and arnica salve.

After a long summer of mosquito bites and yet another sharing of my homemade skin salve with a mosquito bait friend I realized I never shared the recipe here and I want to be able to say:
“Check my blog for the recipe dear! ” ;). I also have been asked to sell this salve so maybe I will in the future but in the meantime I wanna help my friends out and share it here.
Making a salve is easy and doesn’t require a lab or a lab coat but rather your grandmother and the help of bees and the sun. The recipe is basically an arbitrary selected amount of the herbs you want to use ( whatever fits in your pan) covered by an inch of oil ( I use half olive, half coconut oil.) , heated up gently either in a sunny window for two weeks or on your stove in a double boiler. Bring water to a boil, then let simmer for an hour or two or three on very gentle heat. Be careful not to get any water in your oil, that would make it spoil faster. After that, you strain your herbal oil from the herbs and add 1/4 cup beeswax to every cup of oil, heat again gently and then pour in small glass jars. ( I re-use baby food containers or order containers on Amazon .)
I also add about 10 to 15 drops of essential oil per cup of salve for the smell and of course the healing properties of your oil of choice, but make sure the salve mixture is not too hot when you add the oil to preserve the essential properties of that oil. 😉

The magical and fun part for me is to read about what herbs you wanna use for what benefits. For this healing skin salve I picked 4 powerful herbs that contribute to healing in different ways,and for the reasons that I personally thought most useful for an everyday skin salve.

Plantain: not the banana but the “weed” we were told to eradicate from our lawns, because it has the power to pull things out of the skin that don’t belong there.
Comfrey: a beautiful ally in the garden but also a powerful bone healer and apparently good for sunburn as well!
Calendula: very powerful for many things but a gentle skin healer as well, helped me a lot with red ant bites before, ouch!
Arnica: for minor sprain and bruises, always good to have around.

These herbs have more properties to name here but you may learn about them more in RosemaryGladstars books here or Sam Coffman’s herbal medic here and many, many other books but those are my favorite at the moment 🙂

So to recap here is the recipe:

Get comfrey, plantain, calendula and arnica from a local herbal store or an online source suchas Mountain Rose herbs and cover with equal parts olive and coconut oils.
Heat in double boiler for a couple hours by first bringing water to a boil and then gently simmering
for the rest of the time or use solar infused method and do the next step in two weeks if you have the time 🙂
After 1,2 or 3 hours (or two weeks for you oh patient one using the solar infused method) you then strain your oil from your herbs and heat 1/4 cup beeswax to every cup of herbal oil you have made.
Next, before pouring your warm salve in your prepared containers, add 10 to 15 drops of lavender
Essential oil ( another skin healer in da house!) and voila!
Pour, let cool and enjoy!

I use this salve on bites of all types, on skin issues of many types and especially on minor cuts and dry feet. Works wonders for me and I feel safe knowing all the ingredients are organic and safe for me and the planet.

Have fun with herbs and make sure you’re not allergic to any of them, that your doctor likes the idea and that your Mum approves,and let me know how it turns out!

Mel

20151009-182316.jpg

20151009-182354.jpg

2 thoughts on “Mosquito bites salve aka life saving comfrey, plantain, calendula and arnica salve.

Leave a Reply

